Canadian Society for Pharmaceutical Sciences
Société canadienne des sciences pharmaceutiques

Congratulations! 2017 CSPS Award Winners

The following awards were presented at the 20th Annual CSPS Symposium in Montreal, May 10-12, 2017:

CSPS Award of Leadership in Canadian Pharmaceutical Sciences
Marcel Bally, BC Cancer Agency, UBC (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine; Pharmaceutical Sciences), and CDRD, Vancouver, BC

GSK/CSPS Early Career Award
Mohsen Sadatsafavi, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC

CSPS Fellow Award
Christine Allen, University of Toronto, Toronto, ON

Gattefossé Canada/CSPS Award in Lipid-Based Drug Delivery
Mays Al-Dulaymi, University of Saskatchewan, for her paper: Peptide-modified Gemini Surfactant-based Gene Delivery Systems: in vitro and in vivo Evaluation, Physicochemical Characterization and Biodistribution

Antoine Noujaim Award of Excellence Poster Award ($1,000) 
Mohamed Wehbe (UBC), for his poster:
Exploring the Therapeutic Potential of Copper Based Therapeutics in Platinum Insensitive Cancers

CSPS Poster Award ($800)
Zaid Almaayah (Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Alberta), for his poster:
Daunorubicin Induces Cardiotoxicity through a Soluble Epoxide Hydrolase-mediated Epoxyeicosatrienoic Acid Degradation Dependent Mechanism

CSPS Poster Award ($800)
Aysha Ansari (Dept of Chemical & Materials Engineering, University of Alberta), for her poster:
Customizing Lipopolymers for Efficient siRNA Delivery to Different Leukemia Cells

CSPS Poster Award ($600)
Seyed Amirhossein Tabatabaei Dakhili (Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Alberta), for his poster:
Novel & Selective FOXM1 Transcriptional Program Suppressors

CSPS Poster Award ($600)
Matthew Lamont (Memorial University of Newfoundland), for his poster:
Adolescent Binge Drinking Causes Long-term Impairments to: Object Memory, Anxiety Regulation, and Cerebellar Based Motor Control in a Rodent Model

CSPS Poster Award ($500)
Killol Chokshi (Memorial University of Newfoundland), for his poster:
Characterizing the Molecular Signaling Pathways in the Cerebral Arteries of Stroke-prone Spontaneously Hypertensive Rats (SHRsp) Before and After Stroke

CSPS Poster Award ($500)
Arman Moini Jazani (Concordia University), for his poster:
Dual Reduction/acidic pH-responsive Block Copolymer Micelles: Synthesis, Self Assembly and Stimuli Responsive Enhanced Release

CSPS Undergraduate Poster Award ($250)
Steven Choi (University of Toronto), for his poster:
Peroxisome Proliferator-Activated Receptor Gamma (PPAR-γ): Potential Therapeutic Target in HIV-1 Associated Brain Inflammation and Excitotoxicity

Cedarlane Poster Award ($500)
Timon Geib (Université du Québec à Montréal), for his poster:
Acetaminophen-Related Hepatotoxicity Monitoring in Human Serum by Liquid Chromatography-Mass Spectrometry

GSK/CSPS National Undergraduate Student Research Program Awards

Pawan Gill, University of Alberta
Developing Tools to Help Pharmacists Take Action with Asthma

Jovan Gill, University of British Columbia
Investigation of the Potential Application of Rhenium in Diagnostic X-Ray Imaging

Camille Thibault, Université Laval
Is Exposure to Cigarette Smoke Influencing NAFLD-induced Modulation of Drug Metabolism?

Lyndon Walker, University of Manitoba
Mathematical Prediction of Hydrophilic Chemotherapeutic Elution Kinetics from a Reservoir Polyurethane Intravaginal Ring Fabricated by Fused Deposition Modeling 3D Printing

Catherine Grandy, Memorial University of Newfoundland
The Effect of Antioxidant-rich Newfoundland Wildberry Extracts on Neuroinflammation

Valérie Long, Université de Montréal
Increased Heart Rate in Pregnant Mice is Associated with Changes in Sinoatrial Node Calcium Homeostasis

Kayla Wharton, University of Saskatchewan
Development of Radiolabeled Antibody-Targeted Gemini Nanoparticles for Melanoma

Steven Choi, University of Toronto
Peroxisome Proliferator-Activated Receptor Gamma (PPAR-γ): Potential Therapeutic Target in HIV-1 Associated Brain Inflammation and Excitotoxicity