Canadian Society for Pharmaceutical Sciences
Société canadienne des sciences pharmaceutiques

2021 CSPS Award Winners

The 2021 CSPS Awards were announced on Thurs., June 3, 2021 as part of the CSPS/PSJ/CC-CRS 2021 Symposium.

CSPS Fellow Award 2021 – Dr. Catherine Lau, PhD (Strategic Advisor, Janssen Canada)

CSPS Award of Leadership in Pharmaceutical Sciences 2021 – Dr. Ron Boch, PhD (Vice President, Biotechnology and Industry Affairs, BIOTECanada)

CSPS Early Career Award 2021 – Dr. Jacquelyn Cragg (Assistant Professor, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Collaboration for Outcomes Research and Evaluation (CORE) at UBC, and Principal Investigator at the International Collaboration on Repair Discoveries (ICORD)

CSPS National Undergraduate Student Research Program Awards 2021 – Undergraduate pharmacy student award winners from participating Pharmacy Schools across Canada. Congratulations to the following students:

Minwoo Ha (University of Alberta) Identifying Novel Allosteric Sites and Analyzing the Hydrogen Bond Networks and Correlated Dynamics in the SARS-CoV-2 RNA Polymerase

Kelly Tam (University of British Columbia) Analysis of polysialylated breast cancer cell derived extracellular vesicles

James Davis (Dalhousie University) Implementing an updated evidence-based asthma care pathway for pediatric inpatients: a pre-post quality improvement study

Genesis Lobo (Université Laval) Lower Insoluble Aggregates of DJ1 and Parkin Proteins in the Substantia Nigra of Parkinson’s Disease Patients

Snehit Patel (University of Manitoba) Treatment with glucagon-like peptide-1 agonists improves β-cell survival in amyloid forming islets during ex vivo culture

Omar Shogan (Memorial University of Newfoundland) Characteristics that Influence Purchase Choice for Cannabis Products: A Systematic Review

Junior Jessy Gatete (Université de Montréal) Cahier de laboratoire électronique, il est temps!

Jenny Cheung (University of Toronto) Inflammation-induced peripheral hyperalgesia perturbs neuronal function in the superficial dorsal horn of the spinal cord

Svetlana Litchmanova (University of Waterloo) Analysis of the relationship between age and vWF in hemophilia A: the precision of using age as a proxy for vWF in FVIII population pharmacokinetic models for estimating PK


Antoine A. Noujaim Award of Excellence – sponsored by the University of Alberta Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences ($1,000) – Lie Yun Kok (University of Toronto) – Development of a digestion-resistant self-nanoemulsifying drug delivery system for the oral delivery of cannabidiol

CSPS Award in Lipid-Based Drug Delivery – sponsored by Drs. Kishor and Ellen Wasan ($1,000) – Maximilian Regenold (University of Toronto) Vinorelbine Loaded Thermosensitive Liposomes Improve Efficacy in Murine Xenograft Model of Rhabdomyosarcoma

CSPS Memorial Poster Award 2021 – Dedicated in 2021 to Dr. Laszlo Endrenyi ($600) – Daniela Amaral Silva (University of Alberta) BCS-based biowaiver using biphasic dissolution test

Trainee Poster Award – sponsored by CSPS ($600) – Ahlem Meziadi (Institut National de la recherche scientifique INRS) overcoming the challenge of poor efficiency in bio conjugation reactions by physical approach

Trainee Poster Award – sponsored by CC-CRS ($500) – Md H. Rashid (University of Alberta) Myeloperoxidase (MPO)-mediated oxidation of quetiapine and clozapine: Capability of MPO + Cl- in cytochrome P450-like reaction on quetiapine

Trainee Poster Award – sponsored by CC-CRS ($500) – Nojoud Al Fayez (University of British Columbia) Reduced Primaquine hemolytic toxicity of red blood cells and improved liver delivery by phospholipid-free small unilamallar vescicles

Trainee Poster Award – sponsored by CSPS ($300) – Brandon Haefling (University of British Columbia)A role for the steroid metabolite recycling enzyme Beta-glucuronidase in prostate cancer progression

Trainee Poster Award – sponsored by CSPS ($300) – Zeqing Bao (University of Toronto) Sustained Release of Triamcinolone Hexacetonide from Poly(δ-valerolactone-co-allyl-δ-valerolactone) Cross-linked Microparticles: A Potential Osteoarthritis Treatment

Undergraduate Trainee Poster Award – sponsored by CSPS ($200) – Minwoo Ha (University of Alberta) Identifying Novel Allosteric Sites and Analyzing the Hydrogen Bond Networks and Correlated Dynamics in the SARS-CoV-2 RNA Polymerase

Congratulations to all the awardees!